…in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

This still holds true. I have purposely not read commentary, blogs, or the news. I wanted my head to be clear so that I can carefully think about what a Trump presidency COULD look like, to put down my own original ideas. Then work from there by assimilating other ideas and ways to move forward.

Establish justice

Each part of this seemingly simple preamble is a huge bite to chew. The ruminations I’ve managed so far are small but meaningful. Many of Trump’s supporters won’t understand liberty and justice for all. That does not mean that ALL Trump supporters lack understanding. These people wanted change and now they have it. The non-Trump-supporter’s JOB now is to hold Trump to task, right alongside the supporters that do understand justice. Remember, he is now PART of the establishment. He works for US.

I pledge to every citizen of our land that I will be President for all of Americans, and this is so important to me.

-Donald Trump, acceptance speech November 9, 2016

It is up to us to hold him to this. It is also up to us to hold him to a high standard. Many, not all, of his supporters can’t be counted on for that. I hope those few realize what Trump is like and work with us to make sure all citizens are treated fairly.

Insure domestic tranquility

I don’t like having Trump as president. However, he is my president now. I will not sign petitions or call for impeachment because I’m a sore loser. I WILL NOT burn Trump signs. I’m not a cry baby, but I do need time to adjust to this reality. Most of the things I’ve worked for on a political level are now in jeopardy. I need time to regroup and form a plan to keep from losing these things. I don’t see that there will be gains in these areas during the Trump presidency, so my immediate goal is to preserve what stands. I’m still labouring over my strategy, so of course you’ll hear more as I move through this.

A word about impeachment. If Trump does something as President that is unconstitutional, he must be accountable. He hasn’t been for anything else in his life, so I admit, I am a bit worried about this end of things. I would like for everyone, from everywhere and every party, to just shut up and let him hang himself. If he is too smart for that, then maybe our country is safe. Don’t waste the country’s time and effort trying to “get him” for other things (taxes come to mind). He hasn’t been gotten for that stuff and going for him now isn’t going to work, in other words it’s not a way to get him out of the oval office. Besides, we’ve all got bigger things to do.

Provide for the common defence

I’m fairly certain Trump will make sure America is well armed. I know Trump wants to do some abrasive and aggressive things in the world, and I’m equally sure he has no idea these things will be trouble for America. The most unsettling aspect of his administration, he is completely unpredictable. I haven’t got all the answers, but I know there are other smart people out there who each have some answers. I will find them and help them to keep Trump from destroying our alliances and critical power balances in the world.

Promote the general welfare

Legal definition for those of you wondering what hell this part means: the government’s responsibility to the health, peace, morality, and safety of its citizens.

This really is where my greatest fears reside. His exclusionary attitudes, as seen in his bigotry, misogyny, derision of veterans, disabled individuals, Hispanics and Latinos, and the LGBT community (did I leave anyone out?) is evidence that he doesn’t care for anyone but himself. How can I be sure he cares about the health, peace, morality, and safety of citizens? Now that he is president, his attitudes put the safety of friends and family in jeopardy. Because my fear is high, I’m having trouble finding a solution for this problem.  I would have hope if Trump had also said somewhere in his acceptance speech that he condemns supporters that are bigots, racists, misogynists, and any other -ist you care to add. But he didn’t, and that omission has made it acceptable for others to be bullies. If he truly is for all Americans, then he can stand up for what’s right, as “…this is so important to me.” Still working this conundrum, and you can bet I’ll be writing more.

We the people…

…do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America. We are those people. Let’s call on Trump and make him live up to this document and keep our country safe and free.

Oh, and I do have some ideas about how Trump can be good for the country. I’ll drop that bomb on you in another blog.

